Skip to content
Home Remedies for Celiac Disease
- You will want to avoid the gluten foods, which are wheat, oats, rye, and barley.
- The follow grains do not have gluten: corn, millet, and rice. Soybeans, quince, and amaranth are also okay. Buckwheat is okay for some celiacs, but not for others.
- All grains fed to babies (and adults too) should be cooked for 2-3 hours, if the preparation is done by boiling at 212o F.
- Do not eat products containing cow’s milk. Breast-feed the child, to avoid using cow’s milk.
- Do not overeat sugar or white-flour products.
- Eat a nourishing diet, including fresh fruit and vegetables, and vegetable juices. Fiber is important in the diet of celiacs.
- Allisatin, found in garlic, is said to help treat celiac disease.
- Ripe bananas are tolerated well, and help control the diarrhea.
- Avoid processed, fried, and junk food. Do not eat sugary foods, chocolate, and processed foods.
- Read the labels, and watch for “hidden” gluten or cow’s milk ingredients in bottles and packages. Some of these are malt, modified food starch, some soy sauces, garin vinegars, binders, fillers, excipients, and “natural flavorings.” Almost all commercial breads, bread mixes, crackers, etc., contain gluten. It is often found in commercially prepared puddings, candies, cookies, cakes, ice cream, salad dressings, luncheon meats, frankfurters, canned chili, macaroni, noodles, spaghetti, bread stuffings, and anything thickened with flour (soups, vegetables, bottled meat sauces, gravies, flavoring syrups, sauces, cocoa mixes.
- Only eat homemade desserts.
- Frozen, fresh, or canned vegetable and vegetable juices are all right.
- Breads and cereals made from rice, millet, soybean, corn, or potato starch are okay.
- Do not eat meat.
- Avoid tobacco, tea, coffee, and alcohol.
- Helpful herbs include aloe vera, burdock, pau d’arco, psyllium, saffron, slippery elm, and alfalfa.